Dutch elections

They’re finished, the Dutch elections. This will free us for some time of politicians in game shows, entertainment programs etc. And I’m glad of that. It seems that politics has moved on from substance to persons. People vote someone because he’s genuine and/or honest. And to be honest I totally resend that. It shouldn’t be about the person, but about the programan and reforms they’re proposing for some reason that’s gotten totally out of the picture.

I read a piece on Dave Winers blog about how the SP (Jan Marijnissen) won the elections because of his blog. To put it in perspective if you actually read parts of the blog he states on the blog that one day before the elections a whopping 24.000 visitors where there. I hope you get my sarcasm, though the internet played an interesting part in the elections, attributing it to Jan’s weblog is somewhat strange and far off from the mark. I once read an article about the manner the SP is organized and believe me, their organization structure and the enthousiasm of their members attributes a lot more to their success than the weblog. Mr. Marijnissen is seen by a lot of people as trusting and he had a lot of female voters…. Because he was perceived as a nice guy nobody actually attacked him very hard instead attacking Wouter Bos who lost a lot of credibility and of course votes…

I’ve only got one problem with current voting, I can never have it the way I like it, currently I’m voting for a party and I get the whole package, whether I like it or not…. And to be honest that really stinks. I would rather spend half an hour entering a questionaire on the internet with all relevant subjects and decide what I feel about a certain issue and how I feel this should be tackled in the coming period. An example I like is 21 minutes which is a questionaire about issues people think really count and how they respond to that. Then after the agenda has been set, I’m willing to vote for persons who should tackle this problem. Unfortunately this will never happen because the political parties wouldn’t really like it, it would be the end of their relevancy (which I personally don’t feel bad about at all). People would be chosen into parliament with the sole mandate of checking whether the people tackling the problems where doing their work according to the mandate of the people.

Now that would be a neat democracy…..

Leave a comment

Filed under Politics

Leave a Reply

